Bookmark and Share

Argument against Measure L

This proposed measure will significantly delay the portion of the Monterey Bay Sanctuary Scenic Trail that traverses the Esplanade by mandating no Trail improvements through Capitola Village.

The City of Capitola voted in 2015 to adopt the Monterey Bay Sanctuary Scenic Trail Network Master Plan that includes the Coastal Rail Trail. Measure L is an erroneous and misguided attempt to overturn the countywide consensus to build the Trail and keep the rail line intact for future public transportation needs.

The Rail Trail will connect our county south to north, from Watsonville to Cabrillo College, from Santa Cruz to Capitola. Under the scenario proposed by this confusing measure, Capitola will become a neglected gap in our otherwise continuous, coastal Sanctuary Scenic Trail network.

Prohibiting the City of Capitola from cooperating with the Regional Transportation Commission on development of the Trail will not provide any of the so-called outcomes of the measure. In fact, the objectives listed in the proposed measure will only be accomplished by implementing the vision of the Monterey Bay Sanctuary Scenic Trail.

In 2016, Transportation Measure D affirmed the will of a 2/3 majority of voters countywide, including in Capitola, for a variety of transportation solutions into the future, including highway improvements and increased safety for pedestrians, bicyclists, and children getting to school. It also affirmed public interest in considering rail transit along the coast rail line as a new possible travel option for residents and visitors traveling in our scenic but congested communities.

We need the Rail Trail now! We don’t need more expensive advertising or this misguided measure that’s trying to stop progress on sustainable traffic solutions.

Build the Trail – Keep the Rail

Stephanie Harlan
Capitola City Council Member

Dennis R. Norton
Former Capitola City Council Member and Mayor

Janneke Strause
Executive Director, Bike Santa Cruz County

Mark Mesiti-Miller
Chair, Friends of the Rail and Trail